Useful literature search tools and recommended reference works
This page presents a selection of key databases dealing with Gender Studies, general Danish databases and core portals, where you can search for Danish and Swedish Ph.D. dissertations. In addition, recommended reference works containing a broad overview of the most significant theorists as well as important theories, research methods and concepts within Gender Studies. Due to license restrictions there is limited access to online resources. You are entitled to access the resources if your university has provided a license. However, as a registered user of The Royal Library you have free access to all resources through walk-in-use at any of the Royal Danish Library's serving points.
KVINNSAM is an open access interdisciplinary database with references in English, Swedish and many other languages from Gothenburg University Library collections, mainly within the field of humanities and social sciences. The bibliographical references consist of books, journals, articles, chapter, pamphlets, research reports etc. All the records include English as well as Swedish subject headings. The databases contain more than 150,000 references from 1970 and onwards.
Women's Studies International Database is a bibliographic database for women's studies and feminist research. Providing indexing and abstracts for more than 600 publications, it is a valuable resource for many disciplines, including sociology, history, international relations and humanities. This comprehensive database covers more than 980,000 records from 1881 to present. Access through the Royal Danish Library, Copenhagen University Library, Copenhagen University and Roskilde University. Other library users could have access depending on the license availability. Please ask at your local library.
The Royal Danish Library system:
In the library system you can retrieve both physical and online resources available at Royal Danish Library, Copenhagen University Library, Aarhus University Library, as well as Roskilde University Library. Anyone can become a registered user of the system and borrow books and journals, but not all online resources are freely accessible due to license restrictions. However, as a registered user of The Royal Library you have free access to nearly all resources through walk-in-use at any of the Royal Danish Library's serving points.
Bibliotek.dk can be used by everyone and covers the catalogues of all Danish libraries, including public libraries, specialized libraries and academic libraries. Through Bibliotek.dk you can order most materials for pickup at your local library. The only requirement is that you are a registered user either at a public library, or at a research library.
Dictionary of Gender Studies by
This new dictionary provides clear and accessible definitions of a range of terms from within the fast-developing field of Gender Studies. It covers terms which have emerged out of Gender Studies, such as cyber feminism, the double burden, and the male gaze, and gender-focused definitions of more general terms, such as housework, intersectionality, and trolling. It also covers major feminist figures, including Hélène Cixous, bell hooks, and Mary Wollstonecraft, as well as groups and movements from Votes for Women to Reclaim the Night. It is an invaluable reference resource for students taking Gender Studies courses at undergraduate or postgraduate level, and for those applying a gender perspective within other subject areas.
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society by
2009 RUSA Outstanding Reference CHOICE Outstanding Academic Title for 2009 A comprehensive, two-volume encyclopedia covering the major theories, research, people and issues in contemporary gender studies. The work will be distinguished by a cross-nationaloss-cultural perspective providing comparative analyses of life experiences of men and women around the world.
Key Concepts in Feminist Theory and Research by
This original and engaging text explores the core concepts in feminist theory. This up-to-date text addresses the implications of postmodernism and post-structuralism for feminist theorizing. It identifies the challenges of this through the development of ′conceptual literacy′. Introducing conceptual literacy as a pedagogic task, this text facilitates students′ understanding of, for example: - The range and lack of fixity of conceptualizations and meanings of key terms; - The significance of theoretical framework for conceptualization of key terms; - The changing nature of language and the reframing of key terms in research (eg the recent shift from equality to social justice); The text explores these issues through six key concepts in feminist theorizing: equality; difference; choice; care; time; and experience. Each chapter considers the varied ways in which these terms have been conceptualised and the feminist debates about these concepts. Each chapter includes case studies to illustrate the application of these concepts in feminist empirical research, and provides a guide to further reading. This text will be an invaluable tool for students taking courses in feminist theory and research methods, and students across the social sciences who are taking courses concerned with issues of gender.
En introduktion til genusvetenskapliga begrebb by
Syftet med denna ordlista är att hjälpa besökare på genus.se att navigera i, förhålla sig till och förstå det genusvetenskapliga fältet. Vi vill ge en nyanserad bild av diskussioner inom fältet och visa på olika definitioner, användningsområden och tolkningar av ord och begrepp.
The Oxford Handbook of Feminist Theory by
The Oxford Handbook of Feminist Theory provides a rich overview of the analytical frameworks and theoretical concepts that feminist theorists have developed to analyze the known world. Featuring leading feminist theorists from diverse regions of the globe, this collection delves intoforty-nine subject areas, demonstrating the complexity of feminist challenges to established knowledge, while also engaging areas of contestation within feminist theory. Demonstrating the interdisciplinary nature of feminist theory, the chapters offer innovative analyses of topics central to social and political science, cultural studies and humanities, discourses associated with medicine and science, and issues in contemporary critical theory that have beentransformed through feminist theorization. The handbook identifies limitations of key epistemic assumptions that inform traditional scholarship and shows how theorizing from women's and men's lives has profound effects on the conceptualization of central categories, whether the field of analysis isaesthetics, biology, cultural studies, development, economics, film studies, health, history, literature, politics, religion, science studies, sexualities, violence, or war.
The Sage Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies by
This far-reaching and contemporary new Encyclopedia examines and explores the lives and experiences of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer (LGBTQ) individuals, focusing on the contexts and forces that shape their lives. The work focuses on LGBTQ issues and identity primarily through the lenses of psychology, human development and sociology, emphasizing queer, feminist and ecological perspectives on the topic, and addresses questions such as: · What are the key theories used to understand variations in sexual orientation and gender identity? · How do Gay Straight Alliances (GSA) affect LGBTQ youth? · How do LGBTQ people experience the transition to parenthood? · How does sexual orientation intersect with other key social locations, such as race, to shape experience and identity? · What are the effects of marriage equality on sexual minority individuals and couples? Top researchers and clinicians contribute to the 400 signed entries, from fields such as: · Psychology · Human Development · Gender/Queer Studies · Sexuality Studies · Social Work · Sociology The SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies is an essential resource for researchers interested in an interdisciplinary perspective on LGBTQ lives and issues.