Rhetorics: Guide

Rhetorica Scandinavica
The only scientific journal in Scandinavia focused on Rhetorics and its impact on society.
Philosophy and Rhetoric online
Articles about the relation between logic and rhetorics, the philosophical aspects of argumentation, psychological and social studies of rhetorics etc.
Quarterly Journal of Speech
Scientific articles with a rhetoric approach to texts, discourses and cultural practice.
Rhetoric and Public Affairs
An interdisciplinary journal devoted to the history, theory, and criticism of public discourse.
Communication Monographs
Especially welcomes articles that bridge boundaries traditionally separating scholars within the communication discipline and that address issues of clear theoretical, conceptual, methodological, and/or social importance.

Narrative
Official journal of the International Society for the Study of Narrative. Publishes essays on the theory and interpretation of narrative
Rhetoric Society Quarterly
Official journal of the Rhetoric Society of America. Features original articles on all areas of rhetorical studies including theory, history, criticism, and pedagogy.
Mediekultur: Journal of media and communication research
Scientific articles about media and communication in Danish, Norwegian, Swedish and English.
Rhetorica: A Journal of the History of Rhetoric
Scientific articles about the theory and practice of rhetorics as well as it´s relation to literary theory, politics, law, religion etc.
Argumentation: An International Journal on Reasoning
Academic contributions from a wide range of scholarly backgrounds and approaches to reasoning, natural inference and persuasion: communication, rhetoric (classical and modern), linguistics, discourse analysis, pragmatics, psychology, philosophy, logic (formal and informal), critical thinking, history and law.

Encyclopedia of Rhetoric
Explanation of 150 concepts relevant to rhetorics. From Abolitionist rhetoric to Zeugma.
A Dictionary of Media and Communication
Explanation of 3500 concepts in the field of communication.
Sourcebook on Rhetoric
Explanations of concepts and theories from a variety of rhetorical schools.
Encyclopedia of Rhetoric and Composition: Communication from Ancient Times to the Information Age
Good for explanations of concepts and articles about specifik rhetoricians. Printed.
Handbook on Literary Rhetoric
Focuses on classical rhetoric. Especially good for latin words. Printed.

Ordnet
Search in: Ordbog over det danske sprog, Den danske ordbog og Korpus.dk (danish dictionaries)
Sproget.dk
Danish language, grammar, spelling etc.
Oxford Reference
Review articles on various subjects. Definitions and descriptions of theories and schools in various disciplines. The academic alternative to Wikipedia.

American Rhetoric
Archive of more than 5000 speaches in text, audio and video format.
Danske taler
More than 2000 speeches in Danish.
Perseus Digital Library
Primary and secondary sources to the study of the classical world.
Special collections of the Royal Danish Library
Letters, scripts, commercials etc.

Nobelpristagere i litteratur
Videoer af deres taler.
Taler af kvindelige nobelprismodtagere
Tekst.
SoJust
Historiske taler om social retfærdighed.
Gifts of Speech: Women´s Speeches from around the World
Taler af fremtrædende kvinder fra hele verden - en del også med henvisning til lydversion.

Communication and Mass Media Complete
Articles from more than 500 journals in the field of communication, mass media and related subjects.
MLA International Bibliography
MLA is along with FRANCIS the largest online database that covers language and literature. It contains more than 2 mil. references to books, journals and reviews particularly pertaining to european and american language- and literature studies.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Index of journals, books, dissertations and reviews. Broad coverage of language studies as well as good coverage of small languages.
Project Muse
Online access to an extensive collection of scholarly work in the humanities and social sciences.
Nora – Research portal Denmark
Publications from Danish research institutions in all subjects.

Google Scholar
A part of Google but with scientific literature.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to English language articles in numerous disciplines, from 1880 onward.
Humanities Index
An international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, covering over internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK.
Web of Science. Social Sciences Citation Index
Social Scientific bibliography with references to articles in journals in numerous languages from 1956 onwards.

Infomedia
InfoMedia contains most of the Danish daily and weekly newspapers, trade magazines along with other news sources from 1975 onwards.
Mediestream
Online access to the Royal Library's digital collection of newspapers, radio, tv and commercials. All material more than a 100 years old is freely available. Material less than a hundred years old, is accessible through certain computers.
Nexis Uni
Contains full text newspaper articles from foreign newspapers. The oldest articles and reviews are from the 1970s and most articles are from the 1990s and onward.

International Society for the History of Rhetoric
Promotes the study of both the theory and practice of rhetoric in all periods and languages and the relationship of rhetoric to poetics, literary theory and criticism, philosophy, politics, religion, law and other aspects of the cultural contex

Contact

Jeanette Johansen
Information specialist

+45 9135 6450
jeaj@kb.dk