Musicology: Guide

A comprehensive and reliable reference work, broadly covering music history and theory.

An international bibliographic database of musicological literature.

A very comprehensive music lexicon. It is in German, yet it integrates with Google Translate.

An international database of musicological dissertations. Has a focus on American publications.

An international index of articles in music journals. Covers both popular and professional research articles.

A peer reviewed channel for publishing Danish music research. Provides electronic access to Musik & Forskning, Cæcilia, and Col Legno.

An independent magazine about music, sound, and sound art. The archive of Dansk Musik Tidsskrift is available here.

The journal covers a wide array of music related areas. It primarily publishes research on Scandinavian issues.

An international journal covering popular music topics in general. It has a focus on music as popular culture.

A journal with an interdisciplinary approach to music research. It demands a certain theoretical depth.

An online Open Access journal. Publishes in a multidisciplinary fashion within sound studies.

A podcast produced by the Society for Ethnomusicology. Directed at everyone with an interest in global music studies.

A podcast hosted by Will Robin who is a musicologist. He is in conversation with music researchers, and the podcast sheds light on new directions in contemporary music research.

Huge online library of, especially, classical music.

A platform providing access to Danish radio shows from 1931 up until today (closes on 15 December 2023, thereafter access via Mediestream).

Online access to the Royal Library's digital collection of newspapers, radio, tv and commercials. All material more than a 100 years old is freely available. Material less than a hundred years old, is accessible through certain computers.

A free online resource giving access to a great amount of sheet music and scores.