Anthropology: Guide

Anthropology Plus
A good place to start your literature search in anthropology, as it's a good place to build your systematic searches.
more...less...
Covers anthropology in a broad sense - meaning culture- and social anthropology but also physical anthropoogy, folklore, archeology and linguistics. The database goes back to the early 1900's, and covers books, articles and periodics. It's possible to save your searches.
Anthrosource
Portal from American Anthropological Association providing access to 32 anthropological journals.
Pascal-Francis
French produced, but international and multilingual database covering anthropology, archeology, philosophy, art, Latin America in particular, literature, linguistics and all social sciences.
more...less...
It contains references with abstracts to mainly journal articles, but also books, reports, PhD's etc. from 1984 onwards.

ATLA Religion Database
Index of articles from American Theological Library Association.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences IBSS
References to books, journal articles and reviews, covering anthropology, political science, sociology and economics since 1981.
more...less...
Searches can be limited to anthropological subsets.
Web of Science. Social Sciences Citation Index
An important bibliography within the Social Sciences areas. Contains references to journal articles in several languages and form several countries from 1956 onwards.
more...less...
Search by 'topic' or search for cited works.
Scopus
Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with over 20,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide containing 49 million records.
Google Scholar
Interdisciplinary search for scientific literature.

Annual Review of Anthropology
Review articles within anthropology, covering siginifcant developments within the field.
The International Encyclopedia of Anthropology
The newest and most comprehensive encyclopedia covering the anthropological topics.
Open Encyclopedia of Anthropology
Formerly the Cambridge Encyclopedia of Anthropology
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
A reference work that covers the social sciences broadly. Contains in-depth articles that are particularly useful for clarifying concepts and definitions of theories and scientific fields.

The Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
Anthropological reference work.
Wiley Online Library
A collection of journals, books and reference works within e.g. the social sciences.
Oxford Handbooks Online
Contains in-depth articles and handbooks in the field of social science.
more...less...
The references can be used for inspiration when searching for keywords and for clarification of concepts when conducting a searching.
Oxford Reference
A useful tool when you need core articles that introduce you to a scientific field and when you need definitions and descriptions of e.g. theories and schools in various scientific fields.
more...less...
Contains reference works in all fields of the social sciences. Try e.g. Dictionary of the Social Sciences, which contains definitions of social science topics and biographies of important social science scholars.

NIAS library
The NIAS Library and Information Centre (NIAS LINC) is a specialised digital library servicing the Nordic Asian studies community.

Contacts

Nynne Overlund
Information Specialist

+45 9132 4293
nyno@kb.dk