Audiologopedics: Databases

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is financed by the U.S. Department of Education and gives access to a large quantity of education related literature. The database corresponds to the journals Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). ERIC also contains information about conferences, meetings, government reports, AV materials, bibliographies, books, etc.

LLBA contains abstracts to journal articles as well as references to books, dissertations and reviews. As opposed to MLA, it also covers language acquistion, dialectology, data- and computational linguistics, language therapy, artificial intelligence, bilingualism, language psychology, social linguistics, and philosophy of language.

Access to Medline through Ovid, which is also used by Embase and PsycInfo.

MLA, published by the Modern Languages Association of America, contains references to journal articles, books, and some reviews in the topics of language and literature as well as folklore. It covers European, Asian, American, as well as African language and literature. Approximately 4000 journals are indexed and the database contains more than 2 million references.

Online edition of Psychological Abstracts starting from 1806. References to books, reports and dissertations from 1987-

Biomedical bibliography. Contains MEDLINE 1966- and OLDMEDLINE back to the start of the 1940's. Covers biomedicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine and nursing. Also available in an OvidSP version.

Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with over 20,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide containing 49 million records.

SveMed+ contains references to nordic articles about biomedicine. Produced by the Karolinska Institute library and contains reference to biomedical publications from three Scandinavian medical journals as well as Swedish and Norwegian medical dissertations.

Bibliography which contains the following databases: : Science Citation Index from 1900-, Social Sciences Citation Index from 1956-, Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975- . Can be used for citation searches. Is part of the portal Web of Knowledge.

The Health Science subject guide gives further information and instruction in the use of the most important databases in the field.