KB logo

Landscape Architecture and Urban Design: Denmark and the World

Address

Copenhagen University Library Frederiksberg
(KUB Frederiksberg)
Dyrlaegevej 10
DK 1870 Frederiksberg C
+45 33 47 47 47
Ask the library

How to find us

Denmark and the World

A list of both Danish and international online resources with collections of relevant data, maps, publications and information:

Arkitekturbilleder.dk. Danish architecture from the 20th and 21st century. More than 12000 searchable pictures.

Centre for Strategic Urban Research was established in 2004 and since the affiliated researchers have published a large number of articles, working papers and books. The publications are in Danish and English, and a few in French.

Danish Centre for Environment and Energy, Aarhus University. Portal for authorities, companies, ngo's and the public to knowledge and counseling about nature, environment and energy. 

The Danish Centre for Urban History is a collaboration between The University of Aarhus, and Den Gamle By, national open-air museum of urban history, Aarhus and is the sole historical institution in Denmark that does urban studies in a comparative and historical perspective.

Danish Environmental Protection Agency. National strategies for environmental factors and health, environmental technologies, chemicals and waste.

The Danish Geodata Agency. Access to maps and geodata for the public sector, companies and citizens. 

The Danish National Research Database is a central portal for published Danish research and currently covers published literature, such as scientific articles, phD theses, conference presentations and lecture notes. The database is based on data harvested from mainly universities but all institutions of higher education, government research institutes, research councils and other public institutions carrying out research can become data providers.

The Danish Natural Environment Portal. A broad selection of environmental data, available on maps. Data for planning and building, nature conservation, agriculture, groundwater, soil contamination and environmental protection

The Danish Nature Agency is an organization under the Ministry of Environment and Food of Denmark, and implements the government’s policies concerning nature and environment. The Nature Agency aims to secure clean water, protecting and securing nature, planning for cities and landscape, outdoor activities and information to the public about nature, forestry and land management of the state forests, gaming and wildlife management.

Danish Outdoor Council (Friluftsrådet) does political work to create the best possibilities for outdoor life and nature experiences.

Danish Town Planning Institute is a private, independent institution aiming to showcase urban and regional planning in Denmark. The Institute addresses town planners, students, public authorities and interested citizens who wish to know more about town planning.

Department of Geosciences and Natural Resource Management has a list of publications published at the department - reports, books, pamphlets and phD theses, of which most can be downloaded for free.

Forest and Landscape Denmark, Department of Geoscience and Natural Resource Management, is a national centre for research, education, consultancy and outreach within forestry, urbanism, landscape architecture and planning.

GEUS - Geological Survey of Denmark and Greenland. One gateway to data about nature and the natural environment in Denmark. Their work field is geoscientific studies, research, consultancy and geological mapping, primarily covering Denmark and Greenland. GEUS is a research and advisory institution in the Danish Ministry of Energy, Utilities and Climate, a partner in Geocenter Denmark and is associated with EuroGeoSurveys.

Historical collection of maps and drawings from Copenhagen. You can select language on the page.

KADK research database. Research database from The Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts, Schools of Architecture, Design and Conservation. Search for researchers and their projects, publications and contact info.

KADK Docs. Image database from The Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts, Schools of Architecture, Design and Conservation with more than 30.000 images of architecture, landscaping, urban spaces, design, buildings etc. from around the world. The images can be downloaded for free. In Danish.

Landezine, Landscape Architecture Works. Homepage where studios all over the world can upload pictures and plans from their projects. Studios, places and types of projects are searchable.

Landscape Architecture Magazine. The monthly magazine of The American Society of Landscape Architects. Subscription site but you can read news, selected articles and issues for free.

Library of Architecture, Design & Performing Arts, The Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts, Schools of Architecture, Design and Conservation. Find inspiration in their subject guide for Urban planning and Landscape planning.

Map Collections, The Library of Congress. The Geography and Map Division of the Library of Congress holds more than 4.5 million items, of which Map Collections represents only a small fraction, those that have been converted to digital form and, in general, is restricted to items that are not covered by copyright protection. The main coverage is American, but you can find material from all over the world, and search for cultural landscapes, towns and cities, historical events and places, conservation, traffic etc.

Ministry of Environment and Food of Denmark is the ministry responsible for politics and legislation in areas such as nature fauna and flora, planning and land use, in the countryside, water etc. 

Nature, Health and Design. A research group from Department of Geosciences and Natural Resource Management, which focuses on research, development and teaching within evidence-based health design and nature-based treatment with the aim to improve health outcomes for various user – and target groups. Find information on practice, research and news.

Places Journal is online public scholarship journal and an essential and trusted resource on the future of architecture, landscape, and urbanism. 

PlansystemDK (Danish Business Authority) contains plans pursuant to the Planning Act and ensures standardization and public availability of plan data, and contains all plan proposals and plans adopted pursuant to the Planning Act. These include municipal plans, local development plans, etc.

Scenario Journal. Scenario Journal is an online publication focused on the next generation of urban landscapes aiming to create a free and interdisciplinary platform for landscape architects, planners, architects, ecologists, engineers etc.

Treepedia. With computer animation based on på Google Street Views Treepedia seeks to promote understanding and knowledge about the importance of tree canopy in city design.

Urban Farming SCIENCE is an initiative at the University of Copenhagen, which collects and visualizes the various resources, knowledge and initiatives present within urban farming at The Faculty of Science.

World Landscape Architecture is a webzine providing landscape architects with news and information about the profession by the profession. Besides a magazine (subscription needed) they publish a newsletter, book reviews, blogs, videos, links to global news and much more.

Find Literature

Search bibliotek.dk